• Agenda for April 1, 2020

    Canadian Gas Dialogues 2020

Notice:  The Government of Alberta has been implementing a phased relaunch strategy with respect to the pandemic. We are currently in Stage 2 of the relaunch strategy. Larger conferences, trade shows and events such as Canadian Gas Dialogues, are restricted until Stage 3.   

Accordingly, Canadian Gas Dialogues has been moved to an online format. Our plan is to commence a series of webinars on each of the announced topics commencing September 21st. These webinars will also be recorded and available exclusively to delegates for viewing at their convenience. 

This page will be updated regularly with full details of the new agenda. In case of need you can contact us at rsvp@naturalgasworld.com. Thank you for your understanding. 



Canadian Gas Dialogues – Webinar Program

Sept. 21, 10:00 am – 11:00 am

Opening Keynote Discussion: Mac Van Wielingen, founder and partner, ARC Financial and Timothy Egan, CEO of the Canadian Gas Association. The role of natural gas and the energy industry in a post-Covid world.


Sept. 21, 11:15 am – 12:15 pm: Plenary #1

Environmental, Social and Governance Issues

Moderator: Bryan Cox, CEO, Canadian LNG Alliance


Cody Battershill, founder, canadaaction.ca

Susannah Pierce, director, external relations, LNG Canada

Mike Cleland, senior fellow, Positive Energy

Chris Severson-Baker, Alberta director, Pembina Institute


Sept. 28: Sectoral #1

Market Access Issues

Moderator: Dale Lunan, Natural Gas World


Tracy Robinson, EVP Canadian gas pipelines, TC Energy

Dale Nally, associate minister, natural gas, Government of Alberta

Hal Kvisle, Alberta Natural Gas Advisory Panel

Dale Friesen, Sr VP, ATCO


Sept. 30: Sectoral #2

Shale Gas Running Room

Moderator: Dulles Wang, research director, Wood Mackenzie


Darren Gee, CEO, Peyto Exploration & Development

Dan Allan, CEO, Canadian Society for Unconventional Resources

Brad Hayes, president, Petrel Robertson

Jeff Tonken, CEO, Birchcliff Energy


Oct. 5: Plenary #2

Managing Methane

Moderator: Jackson Hegland, Executive Director of the Methane Emissions Leadership Alliance


Soheil Asgarpour, CEO, Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada

Wayne Hillier, Modern West Advisory

Gerald Palanca, AER

Mel Ydreos, Founder, EnergyVantage


Oct. 8: Sectoral #3

First Nations

Moderator: Anne Harding, founder, Forum Community Relations


Crystal Smith, chief councillor, Haisla Nation Council

Alicia Dubois, CEO, Alberta Indigenous Opportunities Corporation

Deanna Burgart, founder, Indigenous Engineering Inclusion

Stephen Buffalo, CEO, Indian Resource Council


Oct. 14: Sectoral #4

Tapping Emerging Markets

Moderator: Richard Laszlo, CEO, Laszlo Energy Services


Evan Bahry, executive director, IPPSA

Bruce Winchester, executive director, CNGVA

Blaire Lancaster, VP business development, Ferus Natural Gas Fuels

Tonja Leach, executive director, QUEST Canada


Oct. 19: Plenary #3

Federal Regulatory Structure

Moderator: Sander Duncanson, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt


Marla Orenstein, Canada West Foundation

Chris Bloomer, CEO, Canadian Energy Pipelines Association

Shannon Joseph, VP Government Relations, CAPP

Gitane De Silva, CEO, Canada Energy Regulator - Invited


Oct. 21: Sectoral #5

LNG Opportunities

Moderator: Bill Gwozd, gas industry analyst


Allan Fogwill, CEO, Canadian Energy Research Institute

Menzie McEachern, director mineral and petroleum resources, GNWT

Alfred Sorensen, CEO, Pieridae Energy

Doug Stout, FortisBC 


Oct. 28: Sectoral #6

Global Carbon Trading

Moderator: TBC


Tim McMillan, CEO, CAPP

Chelsea Bryant, Carbon Credit Solutions

Catherine Stewart, Environment Canada - Invited


Nov. 2: Plenary #4

Driving Innovation

Moderator: John Adams, director, Natural Gas Innovation Fund


Bryan Helfenbaum, exec. director advanced hydrocarbons, Alberta Innovates

Jonathan Bryan, president, Patro Research

Ian Gates, director, Global Research Initiative, University of Calgary